Change

Well, it’s been a lot longer than just one day, in fact it’s been over a week (not that I think anyone is counting other than me).  For that I apologise.  Life has a habit of getting in the way.

Penchantforpoppyseeds has had a name change to haveknittingwilltravel.  When I originally started this blog I planned on writing about a lot of things, not just knitting.  But if you haven’t noticed knitting has kind of been a dominant theme so I decided on a name change to go with the already very obvious theme.  There’s a story behind the name, but I’ll save that for another day.

I’ve finished off the little surprise gift I was working on last post

I’m pretty happy with them, my kids love them and I hope the recipients like them too.

I used Susan B. Anderson’s heart from the Heart on a String hat pattern and attached that instead of making a belly button.  I just left off the i-cord, steam blocked the heart flat, then glued it on with fabric glue.  I don’t think it’s safe for small children, but then the intended recipients aren’t small children :p.

I’ve just about finished Sunny’s Annabel Babe Cardigan.  This is the 2nd time I’ve knitted this cardigan (the first one is here) and I have to say I don’t think I’ll be using this pattern again.  I’m not happy with the picking up stitches bit around the armpits.  If I only pick up the required number of stitches the cardigan ends up with holes, if I pick up extra stitches and decrease it looks messy.  I know, it’s just the armpit, who’s going to be looking at that?  Well, I am and I know that it looks messy and that’s all that matters (yes I’m being a perfectionist).  I’m sure the pattern could be altered to allow for a different join for the sleeve, but I don’t think I have the brain capacity to think about that at the moment.

Believe it or not it’s actually purple, not blue.  The yarn is Luxury 4ply from the Bendigo Woollen Mills down in Victoria.  The colourway is called Iris Mist and I think it’s a very pretty colour, kind of a dusky purple.  It’s a shame that the picture doesn’t do it justice.

The bonus of the Bendigo Woollen Mills yarns is that they come in really big 200g balls (at least the Luxury and Classic yarns do), so I still have a massive amount of yarn left to knit another cardigan and I’m thinking of the Artichaut by Solenn Couix-Loarer (it’s a French pattern ooh la la :p) for Spring/ Summer.  I bought the ebook so I have the kids sizes as well as the baby ones, so all 3 of my little girls will get one.  I already have a ball of cream 4ply, I’ll have the left over purple and I’m thinking of maybe a pale pink too.  3 different colours for 3 very different little ladies.

Well that’s it from me.  I’ll be back soon with news of what’s new in my stash and new on my needles.

Happy Knitting

Christy

Leave a Reply

