1680

At 12.03pm today my littlest girl hits 1680 hours old.  Or 70 days, or 10 weeks, or 100’s of hugs and kisses, or millions of heart beats – take your pick.  So much has happened in such a short amount of time.  I went from being a busy mum of 4 to being an extremely busy mum of 5 for starters.  All our time has been taken up with feeding, sleeping, not sleeping, feeding, more feeding, more not sleeping, nappy changes, more nappy changes, exploding nappies and the subsequent aftermath of cleaning.  And in amongst it all, beautiful smiles, lots of “ah-goo”‘s and more snuggles then I ever care to count but hope never to forget.  I wouldn’t change it for all the world.  I love this little girl so much and I’m so glad she’s mine!

Those first few hours were so special.  She cried, I fed her, we cuddled, she peed on me :p.  That white thing on her hand is a blister.  My gorgeous girl had been sucking on her hand in utero ♥

This was taken this morning.  I’ve been trying so hard to get a pic of her smiling, but she gets distracted with looking at the camera, so we’ll just have to be satisfied with this one.  I can’t believe how much this little angel has changed in just 10 weeks.  How much my life has changed.  You’d think that after 4 kids I’d be used to it all, but actually no.  It’s a new little personality, a new little person to get to know.  Every one of my children has been different and changed me.  I didn’t notice it with the others, but with my Sunny Girl, her little face lights up when she sees me.  She’s a little chatterbox already and loves cuddles.  My husband keeps saying “She loves her mummy”, well I love my girl so much that sometimes my heart aches with it.  One of the many things that brings total joy to me is that my Sunny Girl has fallen asleep in the arms of my 6 yo M.I.A on a few different occasions.

I love that Sunny feels comfortable and safe enough to fall asleep in her big sister’s lap ♥.  Love them so much!!!

Knitting, can’t forget that!  Things have been pretty slow, well, not really I’ve just been working on Millrace predominantly.  It’s coming along nicely and I’m still enjoying it.  I’m still working on the increases and it feels slow going but I know that it’s not really, it just seems that way.

I’m almost halfway through the first skein of yarn :D.  Looking at the above photo I think I like the colour…..  I’m still in 2 minds about it.  The problem with buying yarn online, you’re never completely sure about the colour until you see it.  Some knitters like to be able to feel and squish the yarn they buy and won’t buy online because of that.  Me, well, I’m just all about the colour and I buy online ’cause it’s just about the only place I can get the yarn I want to try (the internet is a smorgasbord of yarn :p).

I have to say I’m thankful for technology.  A while ago I was looking for knitting apps on iTunes and came across KnitMinder Lite.  I downloaded it (mainly because it was free) and I have to say it’s such a good app that I bought the full version the other day.  The lite version only allows for 2 projects, so if you’re working on multiple projects at a time then I’d go for the full version (not sure how many projects it stores though).  The reason I like it so much is that it allows for multiple counters for each project.  With Millrace I have 4 separate counters to help me keep track of where I’m up to.  It has made knitting Millrace a no brainer, which in my sleep deprived state is really good.  I’m not particularly interested in the other functions at the moment as I have ravelry and my blog for that, but I’m loving those multiple counters.

I’ll leave you with a beautiful story, I was talking to #1 Son today and asked him if he was ready to start school.  He said “No” and when I asked him why, he said that he wasn’t ready.  I told him that when he goes to school next year both his big sisters will be there and he’ll get to catch the bus.  At that his little face lit up and he told me that yes he was ready.  I turned around and noticed my M.I.A girl looking a little red in the eyes.  I asked her if she was ok and she said “I’m feeling a little teary”, which made me a little teary.  I love my family!

‘Til next time

Christy

Leave a Reply

