Saved by the Book

Well it’s been about 2 weeks since I last blogged.  I started writing a post about Citron but got so caught up with finishing it that I didn’t finish writing the post.

So yes, I am happy to say that Citron is finished.  I am unhappy to say that it turned out far smaller than I hoped.

Don’t get me wrong, it is beautiful but it’s too small for my friend.  I think it’s even too small for me.  It might suit a rather petite person….

I’m sure I’ll find a home for it.

Seeing as it’s not a good fit for my friend, I’ve decided to knit her something different (I really really want to give her something handmade).  I was thinking of doing the My Hope scarf but couldn’t find the yardage in a yarn that I was happy with.  Plus, I really didn’t want to spend another $30 or so on yet another skein of yarn, I’ve bought so much lately.  Manda from the KnitPsycho’s vodcast mentioned that she was having a destash in one of her episodes.  So after trawling through etsy and just feeling unsatisfied, I remembered the destash and went to have a look.  I’ve procured a skein of Apothecary Yarn in Always from Manda (thank you, if you’re reading this).  I’m planning on making Marin by Ysolda Teague with it.  I’ve been keen to try that pattern ever since I first saw it, so this is a good excuse 😀 and I get to try out a new hand dyed yarn which I am totally stoked about!

Since finishing Citron I’ve been a good girl and picked Artichaut back up.  Firstly, this project has been a PITA!  I don’t know how many times I’ve ripped back the arms on the thing.  The left leaning cabley thing was quite difficult to get the hang of.  I tried so many different techniques and was about to give up and throw the whole thing in the bin when I decided, as a last ditch effort, to look in the Principles of Knitting.  I had heard about this book on several different podcasts and was keen to get myself a copy.  I had dismissed it at first as I thought I wouldn’t be able to get it in Australia and would have to pay a fortune in postage in order to get it in from overseas.  However, after hearing about it for the 3rd or 4th time I did a web search and found it in Dymocks (Borders also has it).  What a happy day that was!  (I’m a sad knitting geek)  My goodness it’s a ginormous book!!!!  But there is so much useful information in it.  The section on crossed stitches is what saved the Artichaut from a fate worse than death.  It explained clearly what I needed to do and it worked!  I’ll post a tutorial on it when I do the next Artichaut (I’m planning on 3 at this stage).

Other than the crossed stitches drama, Artichaut is a really lovely little knit and I love the construction of it.  I’m not sure that the Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxury is the best yarn for it, but I’ll reserve that judgement for after it’s been washed and blocked.  It’s also pretty quick, if it hadn’t been for the crossed stitches drama I would have been through the back of the cardi in a couple of days.  My only problem with this pattern is that it’s not particularly clear.  I’m no knitting fool – I don’t need things spelled out for me, but I’m not a mind reader either.  It kind of feels like sitting in a class where you are behind in your note taking, trying desperately to catch up but then you start missing information…… I had a science teacher like that once.  She drove me crazy!  I probably have failed to fully explain what I’m feeling about this pattern, I get what the designer is saying but I’m getting lost in the pattern because there’s a lot of assumptions that I know where she’s up to.  Fingers crossed it works out alright.

Well, that’s it from me this week.  Hope you all have a great weekend.

Christy

Leave a Reply

