Hot Chips

Here in Australia when you buy hot chips from most places, they come wrapped up in butcher’s paper.  So when my Brooklyn Tweed, Loft arrived in the mail today I had a little bit of a giggle.

I got a bag of hot yarn!  Hee hee.  The colourway is Blanket Fort, which is a grey purple kind of colour (more purple then grey but definitely grey undertones throughout).  It has flecks of pink, blue, and red throughout and actually reminds me of balls of fluff.  It really does look like it could be the colour of an old blanket, the sort that you’d find in the back of your grandparents car.  I love it!  There’s always a fear when I buy yarn online that I won’t be happy with the colour, and this was no different, but I honestly can say that I couldn’t be happier with it.

The funniest thing about this yarn (can yarn be funny?) is that there are bits of hay throughout it.  It makes it feel even more rustic and more like that blanket I would have seen in my grandparents car.  The yarn is spun from Targhee-Columbian fleece and is 100% American, I even got a little card thanking me for supporting American yarn production.  To be honest, that made me a little sad, Aussies don’t seem to take the same pride in what we produce.  Most of our woollen mills have been closed down, a massive percentage of our fleece is  sold overseas and/ or is processed overseas (if not all of it).  It just doesn’t seem right for that to happen considering how great our merino fleece is.  Where’s our Aussie pride?

Anyway, I’ll get off my high horse.  I will be knitting Jared Flood’s Sempervivum with it and I’m really looking forward to casting on :D.

I realised the other day that I only showed you Marin wrapped around my 8yo daughter and thought that maybe you’d like to see the completed project whole.

I sent it off to my friend the other day and I know that it’s waiting for her at the post office.  I should know some time later today if she loves it or not (and I’m a little apprehensive).

This past week I also got a postcard from another raveller.  I joined the Postcard Chain in Ravelry Games and it’s such a fun and easy swap.  It only costs a little bit in postage and a postcard, for those that are on a tight budget but want to be able to participate in a swap it’s perfect!  I sent a greeting card that I cut in half and then decorated the plain side with sheep and knitting stamps.  It’s a simple way to be creative and I’m really glad that I joined.

Artichaut and the Sunlight Shawl for Sad People are still in progress (well to be honest I haven’t touched either since last week), I joined an unofficial Cookie A KAL on Ravelry and I’ve been diligently working away on Kai-Mei.  I’ve finished the leg and I’ve been working on the heel flap, photos next time I promise!  I’m really looking forward to working on the bias lace pattern which I hope I can start tomorrow at the Pink Craft Day run by my Thursday Craft group.  It’s an all day crafting event where we raise money for breast cancer research.  Last year and again this year we’re giving the raised funds to people in our church community that are battling cancer.  It’s actually motivated more people to donate and be involved in the craft day event because we’re supporting someone that we know, it’s brought the whole concept closer to home.

Well the girls are home and little G is currently nagging me to play Just Dance 4 on the Wii.

‘Til next week

Christy

 

 

Leave a Reply

