Squee!

Right!  This should be a pretty quick post.  Not much has happened in the last week.  Unfortunately I’ve had a week full of sick little people and my world has revolved around them.

I finished my first Kai-Mei

I’m really really happy with it and I know that once I have a complete pair it’s going to look fab!  I ended up following the instructions rather than trying to get the lace pattern to continue on the bias.  Maybe I’ll modifiy it the next time I knit a pair (because I will be knitting this again!).  The fit is quite comfortable on my foot, almost loose, which concerns me as the other socks I’ve knitted are a fair bit tighter.  I’m hoping I don’t have any issues with this stretching or growing once I’ve washed it.  Oh well, what can I do?

Work has continued on Artichaut but I’ve been having a little bit of trouble with it (knitting in the dark, knitting whilst nursing a baby, knitting with sick children constantly distracting me = lots and lots of mistakes).  I’ve reknit the same part several times and it’s been driving me a little bit crazy.  I’m almost ready to throw the thing in time out and leave it there permanently.  I love the pattern but I don’t love it in the BWM yarn.  The yarn is rather loosely plied so I keep splitting the stitches which is frustrating me no end.  Plus the seed stitch pattern looks a little messy.  I’m hoping that once it’s washed the stitches will relax a little bit and it will stop looking so messy.  Otherwise I won’t be using the seed stitch pattern on the next one.

The Sunlight Shawl for Sad People has become my go to project for mindless knitting.  I won’t bore you with a photo as it doesn’t look much different to the last time, just bigger.  It’s not very big but I’m already looking at it wondering if I’ll ever finish it (not because I’m bored with it, but because I want to be knitting something else).  I’ve also pulled out Millrace and the 2nd skein of Finch so I can finish that.  I’m determined to get it done so I can start Aestlight (I think I’ll start with that shawl and then move on to Sempervivum).

Speaking of which, I’ve got the yarn for the Birds Nest Lace.  I’m using Yarn Love’s Elizabeth Bennet in Banana (Light).

As always, the pic isn’t very good.  I really should upgrade my camera.  One day.  Anyway, I’m hoping it works, it really does make the After The Storm look brighter.  I guess we’ll see once I’ve knitted it up.

Also, new to my ever growing stash is a skein of hand dyed sock yarn from an Aussie Dyer I found on etsy, Half Baked, and we all know how I feel about supporting Aussie, I didn’t think twice about buying a skein.  Danielle predominantly sells roving for spinning but she does have a few skeins of yarn in the shop.  Up until about half an hour ago she wasn’t even listed in the ravelry database, I fixed that.  If you’re an Aussie reading this, have a look at her shop.  Let’s get behind supporting our indie dying/ spinning/ designing industry!  (I’ll hop off my soap box now).

The picture doesn’t do it justice.  It’s a lovely semi solid, almost variegated in shades of minty green.  I’m planning on knitting Cookie A’s Pomatomus socks with it.  It was a toss up between an almost solid plum and the green.  The green won out (obviously) simply because I love how variegated/ semi solid colours works up in socks, adding interest and depth.  If I wanted plain socks I’d go to Big W :p.

Last but not least I have another ball of Lollipop Yarns in Hootenanny.  Oh my goodness I love this yarn!  It is so bright and cheerful, it makes me happy just looking at it.  I have a design in my head for this beautiful ball of happiness, something simple so as to not detract from the gorgeous stripey colours but will still add a bit of interest to the sock.  I’ve started swatching and playing around with different patterns.  Not sure when I’ll find time to do it all……. but if I don’t try I’ll always be wondering “what if?”.

Joan, the genius behind Lollipop Yarns, is the nicest person.  The only time I managed to catch one of her shop updates she was sold out in minutes.  So this time I didn’t even bother waiting for a shop update, I just messaged her and after a lovely conversation and timing the custom order so we were both online at the same time (so no one else would snag it – I can’t believe people would steal other peoples custom orders :/ ) I got a ball of the above yarny goodness.  It is so worth the wait, buying yarn from her.  Every box is a delight to open.

Well, that’s it from me for another week.  I’ve just discovered yet another mistake in Artichaut so I’ll have to rip back a couple of rows to fix that.  If I’m lucky the next time I blog it will be finished (here’s hoping)!  Either that or it will find it’s way into the dark recesses of the cupboard never to be seen again!

The postie dropped off my Book Depository parcel this morning – Wildwood.  Hopefully I’ll get some reading done this weekend, in amongst the knitting.  What have you got planned?

‘Til next time

Christy

 

Leave a Reply

