The Blog is brought to you today by the Letter M!

Generally I blog on Friday.  It’s my quiet day (especially at the moment with things on Monday through to Thursday) and it’s a good day to review my week and what I’ve achieved knitting wise.  Due to circumstances I can’t control (namely a pathetic internet connection) my blog from Friday never got posted – obviously.  BUT that is a very happy thing as I really didn’t have much to say on Friday.  Since Friday lots has happened….. ok maybe not lots but enough for me to be excited about.

Artichaut is finished!  Well, I have to wash it and sew on a button but otherwise the project is complete :D.  I am pretty happy with the completed project.  There’s room for M.I.A to grow and it looks pretty good on her.

If you’re knitting this pattern and you’re doing the strap tie on the side (as in the pattern picture) then there is no need to leave a hole when seaming.  The pattern is a little unclear and I spent about 5 minutes trying to figure out how the cardi was going to do up taking into consideration this slit in the side seam for the strap to pass through.  It wasn’t until after my girl had tried it on and I’d spent another 10 minutes considering how it should be tied up and looking at the picture on the pattern I realised the error.

But it did give me an idea, considering that I want to knit another 2 I’ve decided that for J.J’s I’m going to make it so the cardi ties up in the back – something a little more grown up for my almost 9 year old.  For Sunny, I’m going to forgo the straps and just have a button closure, less things that can wind up in her mouth :p.

When I asked M.I.A if she was happy with it she replied “Yeah, but it needs something on it.”

“Like what?” I said

“A teapot”.

I think I will spend the rest of my life trying to understand the way she thinks.

Since finishing Artichaut yesterday, I have wound my 2nd skein of Finch and picked Millrace back up.  I was a little daunted by the prospect of knitting it again as I hadn’t made any notes as to where I was up to, all I had was my row counter.  I was worried about nothing, by the end of the first row I was well and truly up to speed with where I was up to and where I was going.  I finished off the first lot of decreases yesterday and have started on the next.  I have about 200 rows to go :p.  I do love it but I’m also very aware of the fact that it is going to be loooooonnnnnggggg (I’m not exactly short).  Blocking it is going to be interesting.

 

I’ve also cast on Pomotamus.  To be honest I’m feeling a little ambivalent about it.  I’m not sure why.  I love the pattern, I’m happy with the yarn, but the whole sock thing is leaving me feeling a little empty.  It might be that I’m knitting them on my Hiya Hiya 9″ bamboo needle.  There’s nothing wrong with the needle….. “it’s not you, it’s me” :p.  Actually maybe there is, I don’t think I should have bought a bamboo needle, it’s a little too grippy.  Going from the bamboo tips to the metal Addi tips is like going from sitting on gravel to sitting on tiles.  Plus there’s the whole working with such a short circular needle which gets tiring after a little while.  Well, it is for me at the moment.  Then there’s the needle size.  The pattern calls for a 2.75mm needle and cast on of 72 stitches.  However, the Jaywalkers have a cast on of 76 stitches and called for 2.25mm.  I knit the Jaywalkers on 2.5mm and they feel a little loose (fingers crossed they don’t grow after being washed), which leads me to believe that knitting the Pom’s on a larger needle is going to produce a sock that is potentially too loose.  Fingers crossed that knitting the Pom’s on 2.5mm works for me.  It’s a lot of guess work which I’m hoping I haven’t got wrong.  I think I’ll swap over to magic loop soon and just try on the few inches of the leg that I’ve completed, at least that should give me an idea of the fit.

Did you see the cute little sheep stitch markers?  I got them from Jelby on etsy and they are so cute and colourful, I also have a green and a purple one.  They’re nice and light weight and add a nice touch of colour.  Yes, I know, I’m already knitting in colour, why do I need any more.  I can’t help myself, I LOVE colour!

I also started reading Wildwood this past week and I highly recommend this book.  It’s such an engrossing and intriguing story.  I’m loving every moment of it, even the illustrations are fantastic and give a nice bit of interest as the story goes along.  It’s so nice to be reading an interesting and engrossing novel again.

Well that’s it from me.  Hopefully I’ll see you again on Friday (fingers crossed I have no tech issues this time)

Have a great week!

Christy

Leave a Reply

