Bumble

My J.J turned 9 earlier this week.  I still can’t get my head around it, I’ve been a mother for 9 years!  I kept telling her in the days leading up to her birthday that her birthday was more about me than her.  I was just teasing of course, there is no one more important than the birthday person on their birthday!  But seriously, as a mother, I can’t help but mark each of her birthdays as milestones in my own life.  The only thing that I’ve stuck to longer is being a wife.  I choose to be a mother every day, just as I choose to be a wife.  I fail at my job, I make massive mistakes continually, but I haven’t given up.  There have been plenty of times when I’ve thrown my knitting down and walked away but I haven’t done that as a mother.  I don’t think that makes me special or any better than anyone else, it’s just an acknowledgement of my own commitment to this job and for me that’s an achievement because I generally would take the easier option and walk away.

The picture above was taken at a birthday party early last year.  My cheeky monkey with a pinata on her head :p.  Funnily enough she hasn’t changed much in the past year and half, just grown taller and cheekier.  I love this (not so) little girl so much!  She brings so much joy to our home with her funny sense of humour (she called her dad and I “dudes” for an entire afternoon), her cheeky face, her love of reading, her thoughtfulness and sensitivity.  She is also an amazing big sister, she gives so much and is so patient (most of the time) with her younger siblings.  It’s not uncommon to find her on the floor playing with her 2 year old brother, or reading to our 2 boys, or even trying to keep a very sad and crying Sunny Girl company while I’m trying to make lunches and get everyone ready for the day.  J.J is such a blessing to us and I am so thankful for her ♥

This week I’ve been exclusively working on The Sunlight Shawl for Sad People.  It’s just easy at the moment.  Generally speaking I look at plain stocking/ garter stitch patterns and think “Boring!” but I’m really enjoying not having to think as I knit.  I bought a pair of Hibiscus coloured jeans last weekend and as I was working on the shawl the other day whilst wearing my jeans I discovered that they are a very close match in colour.  So if the recipient doesn’t like the shawl at least I have something to wear it with :p.

 

The little blur in the bottom right corner is my G, trying to help mummy take a pic I guess :p

Well, that’s it from me this week.  It truly is a short one.  The weekend awaits and my Sunny Girl reaches 6 months :O.  I hope you have a great weekend 😀

‘Til next time

Christy

 

Leave a Reply

