A Bazillion Ends

Hellooooo lovely people!!!

I hope, wherever you are in the world you’re having a great day!  Me, well it’s Friday evening, Mr HK is home and the little people are on their way to sleep, what’s not to love about that?

On Wednesday – ooohhhhh I must be having an ok week, I can remember 2 days ago….  Anyway, I digress…..  On Wednesday I cast on My Superhero by Jennifer Lori.  This is my first intarsia project, ok that’s not entirely true, the first jumper (“sweater” for those playing in North America) I ever knitted had “colour work” on the sleeves.  Essentially it was a solid stripe of colour right up the centre of each sleeve, pretty basic intarsia if you could even call it that.  Anyway (I wonder if I can set a record for the number of times I can say “anyway” in a post….. yes I’m in a strange mood, but as I’ve said it’s Friday),  I knitted that particular garment over 10 years ago and I haven’t done colour work since then – unless I’ve blocked those memories because they are way too traumatic 😛 .  I’ve had the Superhero in my queue for a while and when I say a while I mean well over a year, if not 2.  I even messaged the designer way back then with questions about the difficulty of the colour work and printed out the pattern when I first added it, all with great intentions….. and then I baulked.  I chickened out, I got cold feet, I freaked out over my ability to be able to successfully knit this little project, I made excuses, and so it sat in my queue in the same spot, not moving and being blatantly ignored.

Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t trying to be mean, I could see those little masked eyes peering at me every time I looked at my queue (it was up near the top) but I would avoid eye contact, I would tell myself that I would get to it soon but I think those little Superheroes and I both knew that was a lie.  However, I paid for the pattern and that alone has kept it in my queue and held me to the need to knit a Superhero rather than banishing the pattern and the idea of intarsia knitting forever.

A little boy has his 1st birthday coming up and I need a gift for a him, so I thought to myself, what can I give a little boy that’s toddler friendly, isn’t going to cost a packet, but is still worth it’s weight in fun and play?  I thought about knitting a little jacket, or a hat, but neither of those cut it really, and then I remembered those Superheroes in my queue, the fact that I paid money for that pattern and my need to put that money to work, and I swallowed my fear and made the decision to cast on.

Those sneaky little Superheroes wormed their way onto my to do list.

So far so good, youtube is most certainly one of my first go to resources for demonstrating all things knitting.  The only problem, there are a million ends to weave in!

Tangled

Before I started knitting socks I freaked out, I thought that socks would be too hard, they looked good, they looked so good that they must be incredibly difficult and there was no way I had the skill level to pull off something that cool.  Then I discovered hand dyed yarns and those beautiful colours with their subtle semi solids and cheeky variegations slowly but surely won me over.   I swallowed my fear and when Mr HK was out one Friday night I launched in with a practice sock done in an 8 ply (DK weight) yarn.   A few happy hours later I had a miniature sock in my hand – it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  The same is true of this, it’s not that hard, there are just so many ends to weave in.  At least I can say I can do intarsia, even if I never try it again.

Do you have a knitting nemesis that you’re too scared to conquer?

While I was reading some of my favourite blogs earlier today I came across a banner advertising the 4th Annual Knitting and Crocheting Blog Week (which you can read more about here) and after reading through the info I thought it would be a bit of fun to join in.  So next week, hopefully, there will be a blog a day from me.  I’ll try and keep them brief, especially considering that it’s still school holidays and I have 5 kids home to keep happy and entertained, but I’m going to give it a go.  If you’re a fellow blogger, come and join in, it’s bound to be a fun and interesting experience.

Well that’s it from me.  I hope you all have a great weekend.

Christy

Leave a Reply

