Pretty in Pink?

My favourite colour is pink.

Funnily enough I don’t knit in pink very often.  Millrace (which I need to block) and the Hopsalots slippers (which I need to finish) are the only things that I’ve knitted for me in pink, that I can think of off the top of my head – and both of them are still in unwearable forms.

The 4th blogging challenge is about colour, what colours do I like, what colours I like to knit with, what colours do I actually knit with (all without cheating and looking at my projects page on ravelry 😛 ).  I like to think I knit in a rainbow of colours, but I think in actuality I knit in a lot of green and blue with the occasional other colour thrown in for good measure, at least when I’m knitting for me.  When it comes to the rest of the family I try to choose colours that I know they love.  Miss 9 loves yellow, Miss 7 loves pinks and purples, the boys like blues and greens, and Mr HK likes grey.

I’m going to be honest and say that this challenge is hard for me.  I love colour, I love knitting in rainbows of colour, but pinning down what colours I actually use is tough.  I guess my house mascot, the Monkey, likes things that are interesting, and I’ve always tried to keep my colour choices interesting, I don’t tend to only ever buy one type of colour, I try to buy from the entire rainbow.

The best way to describe the way I feel about colour choice is that patterns tend to tell me what colour they want to be knitted in.  For instance, from the very first moment I saw the Kai-Mei socks I knew that I had to knit them in a light blue.  The same thing happened with Om Shanti, I knew that the socks needed to be knit in a gradient of some form.  Sometimes it’s a case of matching a pattern with the best colour I have in my stash, sometimes I find a pattern and then go yarn hunting for a particular colour.  Sometimes, I choose colour dependant on my mood.

Pink

In a nutshell, colour evokes an emotional response from me.  On Saturday I balled up a skein of yarn from Spacefrog for the Blomster socks.  It’s a variegated blue, pink and purple and it’s pretty busy and very bright.  I needed a pick me up and that pattern coupled with bright yarn sung happiness to me.  They have been a joy to work ever since.  I love watching the little “flowers” fling extra pops of colour across the brightly coloured backdrop of stocking stitch.  These are my happy socks and I have a feeling I will always have a pair of these ready to cast on, whenever I need a bright little pick me.

blomster

Leave a Reply

